AddThis Social Bookmark Button

OZZY OSBOURNE “Tribute” /CD; Live/

OZZY OSBOURNE “Tribute” /CD; Live/
zoom Zoom image

Re-release of the second live album by the legendary Heavy Metal vocalist.
The album was released in memory of Randy Rhoads, guitarist for Osbourne's band between 1979 and 1982 who died in a plane crash while on tour in Florida in 1982. It’s was released on March 19, 1987, five years after the Randy’s death and was reissued on August 22, 1995 and again remastered and reissued in 2002.
The majority of the album from "I Don't Know" through to "Paranoid" was recorded live in Cleveland, Ohio on May 11, 1981, with the exception of an extended guitar solo in the song "Suicide Solution" which was recorded in Montreal on July 28, 1981, and inserted into the song. Osbourne stated upon the album's release in 1987 that the entire album had been recorded "somewhere in Canada", though he may have been confusing it with the Montreal recording which the guitar solo was taken from. "Goodbye to Romance" and "No Bone Movies" are taken from an early tour in support of the "Blizzard Of Ozz" album, possibly from Southampton on October 2, 1980. These two tracks feature bassist Bob Daisley and drummer Lee Kerslake.
The album was originally to be released in 1982, but was shelved indefinitely upon Rhoads' death early that year. Instead, another live album, "Speak Of The Devil", was recorded and released later that same year, consisting entirely of Black Sabbath songs and featuring future Night Ranger guitarist Brad Gillis. The recording of "Crazy Train" that appears on this album was also released as the album's only single on February 10, 1987, along with an accompanying music video. The album's cover photo was taken at a performance in Rosemont, Illinois on January 24, 1982, by photographer Paul Natkin. The album also includes studio outtakes of Rhoads recording the classical-influenced acoustic guitar piece, "Dee", which Rhoads wrote for his mother Delores, and which was originally included on Osbourne's debut solo album "Blizzard Of Ozz".
The operatic music which opens Tribute, as well as all of Osbourne's live shows of that era, is "O Fortuna" from the Carmina Burana "scenic cantata" by Carl Orff.
Album peaked at number 6 on the Billboard 200.
Epic/Legacy/Sony Music Entertainment Inc., 2002 (502045 2). Made in Austria

1. I Don't Know     5:40
2. Crazy Train     5:19
3. Believer     5:08
4. Mr. Crowley     5:37
5. Flying High Again     4:17
6. Revelation (Mother Earth)     5:58
7. Steal Away (The Night)     8:04
8. Suicide Solution     7:46
9. Iron Man     2:50
10. Children Of The Grave     5:57
11. Paranoid     2:59
12. Goodbye To Romance     5:33
13. No Bone Movies     4:08
14. Dee (Randy Rhoads Studio Out-Takes)     4:22
Total playing time: 73:38


Price: 9.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in