AddThis Social Bookmark Button

THEATRE OF TRAGEDY “Assembly” /Digipack CD/

THEATRE OF TRAGEDY “Assembly” /Digipack CD/
zoom Zoom image

Remastered re-release of the fifth full-length album by the legendary Norwegian Gothic Rock/Industrial/Synth Pop.
Album continued the band's move from Gothic to a more Electronic style of Metal. This method was described as similar to "Siouxsie and the Banshees jamming with Ace Of Base".
The album was the last Theatre Of Tragedy album with the vocals of Liv Kristine; the band fired her (according to Kristine, by email) due to musical differences. This is the band's last Electronic/Techno album before going back toward a more Metal sound.
Theatre Of Tragedy pulls off the Synth Pop quite admirably. Much of the disc has a somewhat retro quality to it, paying homage to the '80s sounds like the Pet Shop Boys would have sounded had they been clad in black lipstick and leather when recording "West End Girls" and "Superdrive" could have been the B-side to "Like a Virgin"; however, it also has a space-age modern feel as well, further adding to the schizophrenic nature of "Assembly". Death Metal growls are completely missing, and frankly, not missed. Like Mortiis did with the preceding year's "Smell Of Rain", Theatre Of Tragedy made a very credible album that is quite out of character, and they both succeed because of (not in spite of) that very reason. The Black Metal kids will hate it (even the guitars seem to vanish two songs in), but sometimes the view from a dancefloor is a lot nicer than that from a mosh pit...
Digitally 24-Bit remastered re-edition on 24kt Gold CD includes three bonus tracks!
Nuclear Blast GmbH/Metal Mind Productions, 2002/2009 (MASS CD 1296 DG). Made in Poland.

1. Automatic Lover     4:26
2. Universal Race     3:29
3. Episode     3:35
4. Play     3:24
5. Superdrive     3:48
6. Let You Down     2:55
7. Starlit     4:07
8. Envision     3:51
9. Flickerlight     3:45
10. Liquid Man     4:17
11. Motion     4:42

Bonus Tracks:
12. You Keep Me Hangin' On     (cover Kim Wilde) 4:02    
13. Let You Down (Rmx)     5:51
14. Motion (Funker Vogt Remix)     5:47
Total playing time: 57:59


Price: 10.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg
Not available

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in