AddThis Social Bookmark Button

GUNS N’ ROSES “Use Your Illusion I” /CD/

GUNS N’ ROSES “Use Your Illusion I” /CD/
zoom Zoom image

Re-release of the third full-length album by the legendary American Hard Rock/Blues/Glam Metal band.
It was the first of two albums released in conjunction with the Use Your Illusion Tour, the other being "Use Your Illusion II". The two are thus sometimes considered a double album - in fact both were double albums consisting of 2 vinyl records each.
Not really conceived as a double album but impossible to separate as individual works, "Use Your Illusion" is a shining example of a suddenly successful band getting it all wrong and letting its ambitions run wild. Taking nearly three years to complete, the recording of the album was clearly difficult, and tensions between Slash, Izzy Stradlin and Axl Rose are evident from the start. The two guitarists, particularly Stradlin, are trying to keep the band closer to its Hard Rock roots, but Rose has pretensions of being Queen and Elton John, which is particularly odd for a notoriously homophobic Midwestern boy. Conceivably, the two aspirations could have been divided between the two records, but instead they are just thrown into the blender - it's just a coincidence that "Use Your Illusion I" is a Harder-Rocking record than "Use Your Illusion II". Stradlin has a stronger presence on "Use Your Illusion I", contributing three of the best songs, "Dust n' Bones", "You Ain't the First" and "Double Talkin' Jive", which help keep the album in Stonesy Aerosmith territory. On the whole, the album is stronger than "Use Your Illusion II", even though there's a fair amount of filler, including a dippy psychedelic collaboration with Alice Cooper and a song that takes its title from the Osmonds' biggest hit. But it also has two ambitious set pieces, "November Rain" and "Coma", which find Rose fulfilling his ambitions, as well as the ferocious, Metallic "Perfect Crime" and the original version of the power ballad "Don't Cry." Still, it can be a chore to find the highlights on the record amid the overblown production and endless amounts of filler.
The album debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard charts, selling 685000 copies in its first week. Each of the "Use Your Illusion" albums has been certified 7× Platinum by the RIAA. It was nominated for a Grammy Award in 1992.
They have the perfect mix of Hard Rock, Blues and epics! Although there may not be songs of the same "single potential" as in "Appetite For Destruction", but Led Zeppelin didn't do singles. The album as a whole is truly great. This album will blow you away! The solos from Slash are just immense and any aspiring guitar player should want to be like him and every Rock fan should must definitely buy it, it rocks!!
The David Geffen Company/MCA, 1991 (GED 24415 / GEFD 24415 / 424 415-2). Made in Germany.

1. Right Next Door To Hell     3:02
2. Dust N' Bones     4:58
3. Live And Let Die     3:04
4. Don't Cry [Original Version]     4:44
5. Perfect Crime     2:23
6. You Ain't The First     2:36
7. Bad Obsession     5:28
8. Back Off Bitch     5:03
9. Double Talkin' Jive     3:23
10. November Rain     8:57
11. The Garden     5:22
12. Garden Of Eden     2:41
13. Don't Damn Me     5:18
14. Bad Apples     4:28
15. Dead Horse     4:17
16. Coma     10:13
Total playing time: 75:57


Price: 11.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in