AddThis Social Bookmark Button


zoom Zoom image

The second full-length solo album (eventually the fifth in total) by the legendary Swedish Neoclassical Power Metal/Hard Rock/Shred musician.
Yngwie J. Malmsteen's "Eclipse" was the record that divided Malmsteen fans into two groups - those that wanted more and more Neo-Classical Metal, and those that wanted to hear Malmsteen in a more song oriented, Hard Rock context. "Eclipse" was targeted towards the latter group, however, did feature one instrumental song, the title track, which closes the album. Yngwie's guitar work, as always, shines through and adds the requisite heaviness to each and every track.
By the time of "Eclipse", Yngwie Malmsteen's influence had spread far across the guitar community - dazzling technique was almost a prerequisite to play lead guitar in a Heavy Metal band, and places like the Berklee School of Music and GIT (which used such Malmsteen favorites as Beethoven and Paganini to hone technique) were churning out guitar virtuosos as if they operated assembly lines. The bottom line was that no matter how innovative Malmsteen had been at the outset of his career, he no longer sounded that way, even though as an originator he still far outstripped his legions of mimics. Thus, "Eclipse" sounds like a holding pattern - Malmsteen turns in a competent set of Neo-Classical Rockers that achieve radio-ready status better than much of the material on "Odyssey", but there isn't anything that sounds new here. Of course, Malmsteen fans wouldn't have it any other way. Album was recorded without the keyboard and drum work of the Johansson brothers, instead, the album featured Mats Olausson on keyboards and Michael Van Knorring on drums.
The album reached #112 on the Billboard 200 chart and reached the top 50 in six other countries.
Recommended to core Yngwie fans and other admirers of guitar shredding!!
PolyGram Records, Inc./Polydor Records, Inc., 1990 (843 361-2). Made in Germany.

1. Making Love     4:56
2. Bedroom Eyes     4:00
3. Save Our Love     5:24
4. Motherless Child     4:01
5. Devil In Disguise     5:45
6. Judas     4:25
7. What Do You Want     3:58
8. Demon Driver     3:41
9. Faultline     5:07
10. See You In Hell (Don't Be Late)     3:45
11. Eclipse     3:45
Total playing time: 48:58


Price: 11.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in