AddThis Social Bookmark Button

ACCEPT “Eat The Heat” /CD/

ACCEPT “Eat The Heat” /CD/
zoom Zoom image

European Edition remastered re-release of the eighth full-length studio album by legendary German Heavy Metal band.
It was recorded at Dierks-Studios, in Cologne, from September 1988 to January 1989. Until 2010's "Blood of the Nations", this was Accept's only album without Udo Dirkschneider as lead vocalist. U.D.O. contributes with crowd vocals on "Turn the Wheel".
It's hard to consider a disc featuring the vocals of anybody other than Udo Dirkschneider an actual Accept record. Released after the legendary frontman's departure from Germany's second greatest '80s Metal outfit, "Eat The Heat" proves Dirkschneider's personification of the band. After picking up Minneapolis Metal-club veteran David Reece, Wolf Hoffman and the rest of Accept decided to modify their sound and songwriting enough to fit the replacement singer's more commercial Metal style. Filling in for a legend, especially one as unique as Reece's predecessor, is a risky business, and the American wailer doesn't do much to help his cause as he never injects a personality of his own into this 1989 release. While the substitute's vocal abilities are considerable, it's hard to differentiate his delivery from that of many singers of his era fronting secondary Metal outfits. Making matters worse, the songwriting and production on "Eat The Heat" often sound stale when compared to the consistently raw yet musically tight delivery of the band's best work. To understand and admire Accept's quirky appeal is to appreciate the insane rantings of Dirkshneider and the chemistry of his chaos offset against the band's particular musical order.
Although Jim Stacey is presented as rhythm guitar player in the album line-up, the album credits also state that all guitar work on the album was played by Wolf Hoffmann. Jim Stacey did perform second guitar live with the band.
U.D.O. has also covered the song "X-T-C" on the 2001 compilation "A Tribute To Accept II". Accept later recorded "Generation Clash II" based on "Generation Clash" with Udo Dirkschneider on vocals for their 1994 album "Death Row".
BMG Berlin Musik GmbH, 1989/2002 (74321 93211 2). Made in EU. Pressed in Austria.

1. X-T-C 4:26
2. Generation Clash 6:26
3. Chain Reaction 4:42
4. Love Sensation 4:43
5. Turn The Wheel 5:24
6. Hellhammer 5:30
7. Prisoner 4:50
8. I Can`t Believe In You 4:50
9. Mistreated 8:51
10. Stand 4 What U R 4:05
11. Break The Ice 4:14
12. D-Train 4:27
Total playing time: 62:28

Price: 14.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in