AddThis Social Bookmark Button


zoom Zoom image

The fourth full-length album by legendary American Progressive Metal/Rock band.
After the breakthrough success and worldwide respect that Queensrÿche gained from their conceptual masterpiece "Operation: Mindcrime", it was a fair assumption that they couldn't possibly outdo or perhaps even match themselves. "Empire", released just two years after that watermark, reveals that Queensrÿche reinvented themselves (though certainly not for the last time).
While many fans were clamoring for a conceptual sequel, the band offers a song-oriented approach that is more Art Rock and less Metal (though "Empire" does Rock Hard in places).
Far removed from the fantasy and techno-paranoiac themes of "Operation: Mindcrime", the lyrics tackle social and physical handicaps ("Best I Can") and issues such as poverty and regret ("Della Brown"). Geoff Tate, Chris DeGarmo, and company focused much less on the darker side of love so prevalent in their earlier sound, and looked at romance head on with "Another Rainy Night" and "Hand on Heart."
While Queensrÿche lost some die-hard Metal fans with "Empire", the mature sound and tight production of Peter Collins (Rush) saw the band break into the mainstream and hit number nine on the Billboard singles chart with the Pink Floyd-inspired power ballad "Silent Lucidity", which has remained one of the band's set standbys into the 21st century.
The album stands as Queensrÿche's most commercially successful release, reaching triple-Platinum status and the single extracted, the power ballad "Silent Lucidity", reached No. 1 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks and No. 9 on the Billboard Hot 100. "Silent Lucidity" was also nominated for the Grammy Awards of 1992 in the categorie Best Rock Song, as well as Best Rock Vocal Performance by a Duo or Group.
EMI-USA/Capitol Records, Inc., 1990 (CDP-7-92806-2). Made in USA. First press.

1. Best I Can 5:30 
2. The Thin Line 5:42 
3. Jet City Woman 5:20 
4. Della Brown 7:04 
5. Another Rainy Night (Without You) 4:44 
6. Empire 5:07 
7. Resistance 4:47 
8. Silent Lucidity 5:45 
9. Hand On Heart 5:30 
10. One And Only 5:52 
11. Anybody Listening? 7:40
Total playing time: 63:01

Price: 18.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in