AddThis Social Bookmark Button


zoom Zoom image

Second re-release of the re-recorded and released in 1992 debut full-length album 1985 by American Melodic Hard Rock/Metal band.
Joshua’s 1985 sophomore release "Surrender" has quite the interesting history. Recorded in follow up to the band's 1983 debut "The Hand Is Quicker Than The Eye", the album initially came out on Polydor Records and featured the line up of lead vocalist Jeff Fenholt, guitarist Joshua Perahia, guitarist/vocalist Ken Tamplin, keyboardist Patrick Bradley, bassist Loren Robinson and drummer Jo Galletta. Surrender was later re-issued in 1992 by Ocean Records with the bonus track “Show Me The Way”, that included Robyn Kyle Basauri on lead vocals. Disappointed with the production to the original version of "Surrender", founding member Joshua Perahia reworked the re-issue from the ground up: the drums and rhythm guitar ended up being replaced while the backing vocals also had to be re-done. Many of the guitar solos were re-recorded as well. Nine years passed before "Surrender" was re-issued a second time in 2001, on M&K Sound and with new artwork, and finally again in 2008 (on Ma & Pa Music and also with different artwork).
What we have in Joshua is eighties influenced Melodic Metal and Hard Rock. Big hooks are prevalent throughout the project, particularly on the commercial Metal of “Surrender”, guitar driven “Rockin’ The World”, radio friendly “Show Me The Way” and “Loveshock” (in which a nice use of backing vocals is made). Balancing out the mid tempo-Hard Rock of “Heart Full Of Soul” (beautiful guitar harmonies here) and “Your Love Is Gone” (Bluesy feel on this one) are up-tempo tracks “Back To The Rock” and “Hold On” (great guitar work on these two).
Fans of Stryper, Holy Soldier, Angelica, Shout, Guardian, Whitecross and Bloodgood will find a lot to like here as will those into more recent acts such as Letter 7, Mad Max, Incrave and Eden’s Way!
Re-recorded edition has different track list and different cover. Re-release of re-recorded version has new cover again.
Miller & Kreisel Sound, Inc., 1985/1992/2001 (MK20012-2). An exact bootlegged replica of original US disc.

1. Surrender Love 4:30
2. Heart Full Of Soul 4:32
3. Your Love Is Gone 4:17
4. Stay Alive (Go On Believing) 4:44
5. Rockin' The World 4:45
6. Back To The Rock 3:38
7. Hold On 4:09
8. Show Me The Way 4:25
9. Love Shock 5:08
10. Rockin' The World (Reprise) 0:47
Total playing time: 40:55

Price: 7.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in