AddThis Social Bookmark Button

DIO "Holy Diver" /CD/

DIO "Holy Diver" /CD/
zoom Zoom image

First remastered re-release of the debut full-length album by the legendary American Heavy Metal singer and his band.
Dio has been hailed as one of the finest voices in Heavy Metal for over 30 years now and for good reason. Despite recording two hit studio albums with Black Sabbath and playing throughout the world to huge crowds, Ronnie James Dio left the band in 1982 and began to put together his first solo project.
Released on May 25, 1983, the album has been hailed by critics as Dio's best work and a classic staple in the Heavy Metal genre. The album quickly became a favorite among head bangers worldwide and eventually earned the band Platinum certification. The somewhat upbeat sounding "Rainbow in the Dark" was an MTV favorite, while the title track proved to be another standout.
The album was eventually certified Gold in the US on September 12, 1984 and Platinum on March 21, 1989. In the UK, it attained Silver certification (60000 units sold) by the British Phonographic Industry, achieving this in January 1986, at the same time as “The Last in Line”.
The cover was controversial, featuring a devil killing a cleric. Dio was quick to argue that appearances are misleading, that it could just as easily be a priest killing a devil, wanting people not to "judge a book by its cover."
The demon-like monster is the band's mascot known as "Murray" and is featured on several other Dio albums as well. When the "DIO" logo is viewed upside-down it can be interpreted as spelling either the word "DIE" or "DEVIL". However, Ronnie James Dio has disclaimed this and called it purely coincidental.
"Holy Diver" proved that Dio's departure from Black Sabbath had not affected his spirits. In fact, he sounds most inspired here, aided by his new, hungry backing band!!
Re-edition contains interview with Ronnie James Dio from 2005!
Mercury Records Ltd., 1983/2005 (9830994). Made in Germany.

1.Stand Up And Shout 03:17
2.Holy Diver 05:50
3.Gypsy 03:35
4.Caught In The Middle 04:13
5.Don't Talk To Strangers 04:52
6.Straight Through The Heart 04:33
7.Invisible 05:24
8.Rainbow In The Dark 04:14
9.Shame On The Night 05:19
Total playing time: 41:31

Bonus material:
10-19.Ronnie James Dio Audio Interview (2005)

Price: 11.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in