AddThis Social Bookmark Button

DESTRUCTION “Day Of Reckoning” /Ltd. Slipcase CD/

DESTRUCTION “Day Of Reckoning” /Ltd. Slipcase CD/
zoom Zoom image

Limited Edition of the eleventh full-length album by the legendary German Thrash Metal band.
Destruction was the most traditionalists of the big three German thrash bands: where Sodom and Kreator headed in a Punkier direction, frequently aiming for pure aggression at the expense of melody, Destruction always retained a classic Metal feel. They wanted audiences to mosh, but they also wanted to write songs with memorable choruses and heroic guitar solos. Band have continued to do that for over 25 years, with founding bassist/vocalist Marco Schirmer's (he left for a decade, but nobody likes to talk about those years) hoarse shriek the perfect counterpoint to the band's downtuned, percussive riffing. The first statements from the band are promising for the oldschool fans, a faster and turbulent album than the 2008's "D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N." that will go more 'back to the roots'. This album is an excellent example of 21st century Destruction, up there with early-2000s releases like "The Antichrist" and "Metal Discharge", and much better than, say, 2005's mediocre "Inventor Of Evil".
The songs have the churn of a truck in low gear, proceeding relentlessly uphill before the inevitable frantic, skidding slide down the other side.
The lyrics may not be all that memorable, but with track titles like "Hate Is My Fuel", "Armageddonizer", "Sheep of the Regime", "Sorcerer of Black Magic" and the like, you pretty much know what you're getting: a little bit of angry political ranting and a little bit of rote occultism, all set to Tribal-meets-Punk drumming and Grinding guitars.
Longtime fans of these guys will be very pleased that after nearly 30 years, they're every bit as powerful as they ever were!!
"Day Of Reckoning" sold over 800 copies in its first week in the U.S.
Limited Edition slipcase CD includes bonus track “Stand Up And Shout” (Dio cover).
Nuclear Blast GmbH, 2011 (NB 2626-0). Made in Germany. First press.

1. The Price 3:38
2. Hate Is My Fuel 4:24
3. Armageddonizer 4:09
4. Devil's Advocat 4:18
5. Day Of Reckoning 3:58
6. Sorcerer Of Black Magic 4:25
7. Misfit 4:26
8. The Demon Is God 5:11
9. Church Of Disgust 4:05
10. Destroyer Or Creator 3:09
11. Sheep Of The Regime 4:59

Bonus Track:
12. Stand Up And Shout (DIO cover) 3:17
Total playing time: 49:59


Price: 14.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg
Not available

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in