AddThis Social Bookmark Button

DIMMU BORGIR "Stormblåst MMV" /CD + DVD/

DIMMU BORGIR "Stormblåst MMV" /CD + DVD/
zoom Zoom image

The seventh full-length album by legendary Norwegian Symphonic Black Metal band.
This album is a re-recorded version of Dimmu Borgir's sophomore album, “Stormblåst”. The album was re-recorded entirely by Silenoz and Shagrath with guest appearances from Hellhammer (Mayhem, Arcturus, Emperor, Shining, etc.) and Mustis.
It’s funny how things happen. Between 1994 and 1997, Dimmu Borgir, a promising Norwegian band, released three of the most important Symphonic Black Metal albums ever: “For All Tid”, “Stormblåst” and “Enthrone Darkness Triumphant”. The success of “Enthrone Darkness Triumphant” (released by the prestigious label Nuclear Blast) brought them to be one of the most famous Extreme Metal acts of the mainstream scene. Then, the decline. “Spiritual Black Dimensions” was a very confused and weak release if compared to the previous ones, while “Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia” and “Death Cult Armageddon” were sadly ruined by a pretentious songwriting. In the meantime, Dimmu Borgir slowly became a sort of “clown band”, where the ridiculous “pseudo-satanic image” worked perfectly to impress Metal kids, even if the music was painfully weak. At this point, it’s easy to expect some commercial operations, like re-releases or re-recordings. So, in 2005, “Stormblåst MMV” comes out.
The most surprising statement of this new version is that it doesn’t sound just like a carbon-copy of the original with a better production in addition: yes, the production is without doubt clearer and tighter (thanks to Peter Tägtgren, which made a perfect job, differently from “Spiritual Black Dimensions”), but, beyond this, even the atmosphere of the record has radically changed, making “Stormblåst MMV” almost a standalone release in Dimmu Borgir’s catalog. The original version of “Stormblåst” is remarkable for its melodic and pretty “calm” vibe, thanks to the place occupied by the synths and the mellow (yet fitting) production. Even the artwork, with that beautiful mixture of dark and dull colours, gives exactly that kind of feeling. Contrariwise, “Stormblåst MMV” looks and sounds almost like “the brutal twin”: a stronger and more professional production, a lower guitar tone and a minor prominence of synths gives to this version a darker, heavier and more “muscular” feel. And also in this case, the awesome artwork speaks itself. In addition to the re-recorded songs, there are also two new tracks, and... They Rule! The style is totally in the vein of old school Dimmu Borgir, probably because, as declared by themselves, they took and rearranged some rejected ideas of their old repertory.
This is a unique album. You will enjoy it more than the original, to be honest! This time, the band did a very good job, giving a new skin to their old classics without denaturalizing them, thanks to a better production and a better musicianship. Shagrath and Silenoz have both had major changes in their vocals. The drums are better, as well as the guitars. The synthesizers sounded superb! Mustis did an excellent job on this release. With Peter Tägtgren producing and Hellhammer on drums, this is what Black Metal should sound like!!
You won’t find any of those shitty cliches which affect all the post-"Enthrone" releases and ruin even potentially good albums such as “Death Cult Armageddon”: this is real old school Symphonic Black Metal, just rehashed with a modern production and a modern atmosphere. A commercial operation by Nuclear Blast, but after all... who cares.
Some lyrics are not the same as on the first release.
Song "Sorgens Kammer" from the original album was stolen from the computer game "Agony". Stian Aarstad used the melody without telling the other members; the band always thought that the song was their own until the original composer contacted them. For this reason, the song was not used on "Stormblåst MMV", instead being replaced by the new track "Sorgens Kammer - Del II".
The keyboard intro on the first track, "Alt Sys Er svunnet", was also stolen by Aarstad from "Sacred Hour", a song by the UK Hard Rock band Magnum; thus, it had to be removed from the re-recorded version of the song.
New version of "Stormblåst" features two unreleased tracks and a bonus (live from July 27, 2004 at Ozzfest, White River Amphitheatre, Auburn, USA). 
Nuclear Blast GmbH, 2005 (NB 1545-2 / 27361 15452). Made in Germany. First press.

1. Alt Sys Er svunnet Hen 04:44
2. Broderskapets Ring 05:31
3. Når Sjelen Hentes Til Helvete 04:43
4. Sorgens Kammer - Del II * 05:52
5. Da Den Kristne Satte Livet Til 03:03
6. Stormblåst 06:10
7. Dødsferd 05:42
8. Antikrist 03:37
9. Vinder Fra En Ensom Grav 04:00
10. Guds Fortapelse - Åpenbaring Av Dommedag 04:02
11. Avmaktslave * 03:55
Total playing time: 51:15

* previously unreleased bonus tracks.

DVD (Ozzfest Performance 2004)
1. Spellbound (By the Devil) 04:20
2. Vredesbyrd 04:48
3. Kings Of The Carnival Creation 08:07
4. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse 05:25
5. Mourning Palace 05:45
Total playing time: 28:25

Price: 15.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in