AddThis Social Bookmark Button

BRUCE DICKINSON “Skunkworks” /Deluxe Expanded Edition Slipcase 2CD/

BRUCE DICKINSON “Skunkworks” /Deluxe Expanded Edition Slipcase 2CD/
zoom Zoom image

Expanded Edition first re-release of the third solo album by legendary British Heavy Metal singer, the Iron Maiden vocalist.
"Skunkworks" is an Alternative Rock album. Originally, Bruce intended for "Skunkworks" to be the debut album of a band by the same name. However, the label would not publish the record under any other name than Bruce Dickinson. The album moved even further away from the Progressive sound of his former band Iron Maiden into an Alternative Rock sound similar to bands such as Soundgarden. The album was produced by Jack Endino, best known for producing Nirvana's first album.
Displaying a sometimes Rush-like refined Prog Groove and plenty of his traditional science-and-literature lyrical themes, Bruce Dickinson deserves high marks for "Skunkworks". This 1996 release signals Dickinson's tentative shift toward music generally in tune with (but still somewhat restrained when compared to) his seminal work with Maiden. The occasionally over-serious, high-concept imagery is about what fans would expect, but the open, less Metallic accompaniment (that still Rocks by any standard) has a non-chronological familiarity.
Joining the singer on "Skunkworks" are musicians Alex Dickson (guitars), Alex Elena (drums), and Chris Dale (bass). Highlight tracks include "Solar Confinement", which while lyrically murky, has a great chorus, and the Soundgarden-esque "I Will Not Accept the Truth". "Headswitch" is also a treat, with its updated Deep Purple groove. This track also features some of Dickson's best work.
A year after "Skunkworks", Dickinson joined up with former Maiden guitarist Adrian Smith and made a more defined return to classic form. Most agree that the Smith period is the singer's finest, but "Skunkworks" has some merit of its own, foreshadowing what would become a highly approved stylistic shift!
Expanded Edition remastered re-release features second CD with eleven bonus tracks of rare demos, B-Sides and live tracks, including the full “Skunkworks” Live EP!!
Duellist Enterprises Ltd./Sanctuary Midline/Sanctuary Records Group Ltd., 1996/2005 (SMEDD196). Made in UK. First press of Expanded Edition.

CD 1
1. Space Race 3:48
2. Back From The Edge 4:16
3. Inertia 3:03
4. Faith 3:34
5. Solar Confinement 3:19
6. Dreamstate 3:49
7. I Will Not Accept The Truth 3:44
8. Inside The Machine 3:27
9. Headswitch 2:13
10. Meltdown 4:34
11. Octavia 3:14
12. Innerspace 3:31
13. Strange Death In Paradise 4:52

CD 2
1. I´m In A Band With An Italian Drummer 3:53
2. Rescue Day 4:09
3. God´s Not Coming Back 2:16
4. Armchair Hero 2:42
5. R 101 2:06
6. Re-Entry 4:05
7. Americans Are Behind 2:51
8. Inertia (Live) 3:53
9. Faith (Live) 3:23
10. Innerspace (Live) 4:29
11.The Prisoner (Live) 5:44
Total playing time: 86:55 min.

Price: 17.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in