AddThis Social Bookmark Button

SLAYER “Decade Of Aggression” /Ltd. 2LP; Live/

SLAYER “Decade Of Aggression” /Ltd. 2LP; Live/
zoom Zoom image

Second re-release on vinyl of the second live album by the legendary American Thrash Metal band.
While touring on the Clash Of The Titans Tour to promote the 1990 studio album “Seasons In The Abyss”, separate sections of the “Decade Of Aggression” album were recorded on October 14, 1990, March 8, 1991, and July 13, 1991 in three separate places: at Lakeland, FL, at Wembley Arena in London and in San Bernardino. Its working title was “Decade Of Decadence” until Mötley Crüe registered the name on their 1991 greatest hits album.
A live set from this band is risky business because it's Slayer live that gained an international reputation for taking on all comers and ripping them to shreds on a stage. The fear is simply that the audio recording alone, without the subsequent live DVDs they've issued, won't capture the sheer overblown intensity of the unit in a concert setting. The bad news is that it doesn't; the good news is that it comes a lot closer than one might imagine before hearing it. It's a double live album that approaches the league of Ted Nugent's "Double Live Gonzo!", the Who's "Live At Leeds" and the Allman Brothers' "At Fillmore East" when it comes to representing a band perfectly! This is the original incarnation of Slayer with blastbeat progenitor Dave Lombardo beating hell out of the drum kit, guitarists Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman, and vocalist/bassist Tom Araya. They run through the material on virtually all of their studio albums to that point, going all the way back to 1983's "Show No Mercy" with the tracks "The Anti-Christ" and "Black Magic". While it's true that the majority of the tunes here come from "South Of Heaven", "Reign In Blood" and "Seasons In The Abyss", that's as it should be, reflecting live the band's compositional and overdriven blend of Thrash, Hardcore and classic Death Metal. Producer Rick Rubin stays out of the way; his production seems to be in terms of shaping the live sound to make it sound like this is all one gig. It's exhilarating ("South of Heaven") and exhausting ("Dead Skin Mask"), and by the time they get to "Angel of Death" closing the first disc, most listeners will be drained. That said, disc two is just as furious, with classic Slayer performances of "Born of Fire", "Spirit in Black" and the closer, "Chemical Warfare".
"Decade Of Aggression" is a record for any serious Slayer fan to own, and one that serves as a fine - if excessive - introduction to any late bloomers out there!!
The album charted on three different charts. On November 9, 1991, it peaked at number 55 on the Billboard 200. On January 13, 1992, the album entered the Media Control Charts, where it peaked at number 77. It maintained a number on the chart until February 2, 1992, giving it a total of three weeks on the chart. On December 2, 1991 it entered the UK Album Charts, peaking at number 29. It stayed on the chart for two weeks.
Limited Edition 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl 2LP includes a voucher to download MP3 version of the album.
American Recordings, 1991/2013 (0600753461808). Made in EU.

LP 1:
1. Hell Awaits     6:50
2. The Anti-Christ     3:50    
3. War Ensemble     4:58
4. South Of Heaven     4:25    
5. Raining Blood     2:32

6. Alter Of Sacrifice     2:48
7. Jesus Saves     4:12
8. Dead Skin Mask     4:58
9. Seasons In The Abyss     7:11
10. Mandatory Suicide     4:00

LP 2:
1. Angel Of Death     5:20
2. Hallowed Point     3:36
3. Blood Red     2:50
4. Die By The Sword     3:23
5. Black Magic     3:28
6. Captor Of Sin     3:34

7. Born Of Fire     3:03
8. Postmortem     4:04
9. Spirit In Black     4:07
10. Expendable Youth     4:36
11. Chemical Warfare     5:30
Total playing time: 89:15


Price: 21.90 €
Weight: 0.5 Kg
Not available

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in