AddThis Social Bookmark Button


Sale 2
zoom Zoom image

First remastered re-release of the sixth full-length studio album by legendary Brazilian Thrash/Death Metal band.
First, this is not Thrash. No one is disputing this but apparently, this causes a lot of distress for Sepultura fans who only like the "real" Sepultura i.e. pre “Chaos A.D.” era. A change in direction can be the best, worst or most indifferent thing that can happen to a band. In Sepultura's case it was the best. The guitars are tuned low and are heavily distorted. Igor's drumming is at its best and while replacing the sometimes-monotonous Thrash drumming style with a more Groove orientated sound, it's no less impressive. So, the lyrics are, not the most poetic or sophisticated but that's Max and his passion when singing them makes up for the lack of sophistication. Above all else, though, what makes this album so amazing is that it really is the most Brazilian, any Brazilian band has sounded. Heavy Metal is not a Brazilian invention but of course Metal is for everyone worldwide and like the world itself, it is varied and unique depending on where it comes from, or at least it should be. When you listen to "Roots", there is little doubt where this album originates from. Some may call it a cheap attempt to cash in on some exotic sound but others strongly disagree. Sepultura was the only band to have the balls to heavily lace their music with sounds and language of their native country and bands should do it more often. Why do we expect bands from different places to all sound the same? Why do we expect them to all sing in English? There are so many fascinating sounds from so many different cultures around the world and many of those would fit into Metal. While it certainly isn't the fastest or Thrashiest of Sepultura's albums, it's the most interesting, dynamic, coolest sounding and great!
Remastered 180 g gatefold re-edition features bonus LP with rare and unreleased demos & live tracks!!
Roadrunner Records/Rhino Entertainment Company, A Warner Music Group, 1996/2017 (081227934262). Made in EU.



LP 1

Side One
1. Roots Bloody Roots
2. Attitude
3. Cut-Throat
4. Ratamahatta
5. Breed Apart
6. Straighthate

Side Two
1. Spit
2. Lookaway
3. Dusted
4. Born Stubborn
5. Jasco
6. Itsári
7. Ambush

LP 2

Side Three
1. Endangered Species
2. Dictatorshit
3. Ratamahatta (2 Meter Sessions)
4. Roots Bloody Roots (2 Meter Sessions)
5. Attitude (2 Meter Sessions)
6. Kaiowas (Take 1, Previously Unreleased)

Side Four
1. Procreation (Of The Wicked)
2. Roots Bloody Roots (Demo)
3. Attitude (Demo)
4. Cutthroat (Demo)
5. Dictatorshit (Demo)
6. Untitled (Demo)
7. R.D.P. (Demo)
8. Dusted (Demo)


Old price: 39.90 €
Price: 38.90 €
Weight: 0.5 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in