AddThis Social Bookmark Button

RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/

RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/
zoom Zoom image
RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/ RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/ RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/ RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/ RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/ RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/ RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS “Blood Sugar Sex Magik” /2LP/

Second re-release of the fifth full-length studio album by legendary American Alternative/Funk Rock band.
Produced by Rick Rubin, it's band's first release on Warner Bros. Records. "Blood Sugar Sex Magik" was their introduction into worldwide popularity and critical acclaim, and is also recognized as an influential and seminal component of the Alternative Rock explosion in the early 1990s.
Musical style differed notably from the techniques employed on the band's previous album, "Mother's Milk" (1989), and featured minimal use of Heavy Metal guitar riffs. John Frusciante's guitar is less overpoweringly noisy, leaving room for differing textures and clearer lines, while the band overall is more focused and less indulgent, even if some of the grooves drag on too long.
The album's subject matter incorporates sexual innuendos and references to drugs and death, as well as themes of lust and exuberance. Anthony Kiedis is as preoccupied with sex as ever, whether invoking it as his muse, begging for it, or boasting in great detail about his prowess, best showcased on the infectiously Funky singles "Give It Away" and "Suck My Kiss". However, he tempers his testosterone with a more sensitive side, writing about the emotional side of failed relationships ("Breaking the Girl", "I Could Have Lied"), his drug addictions ("Under the Bridge" and an elegy for Hillel Slovak, "My Lovely Man"), and some Hippie-ish calls for a peaceful utopia. Three of those last four songs (excluding "My Lovely Man") mark the band's first consistent embrace of lilting acoustic balladry, and while it's not what Kiedis does best as a vocalist, these are some of the album's finest moments, varying and expanding the band's musical and emotional range.
John Frusciante departed after the supporting tour in 1992 (not returning until 1998) due to his inability to cope with its popularity, leaving "Blood Sugar Sex Magik" as probably the best album the Chili Peppers will ever make!
"Blood Sugar Sex Magik" peaked at number three on the US Billboard 200, and produced the hit singles "Under the Bridge", "Give It Away", "Suck My Kiss", "Breaking the Girl", and "If You Have to Ask". It was saled 13,000,000 worldwide.
Double 140 gram vinyl.
Warner Bros. Records Inc., 1991/2011 (7599-26681-1 / WX 441). Made in Germany.


Side One
1. The Power Of Equality 4:00
2. If You Have To Ask 4:11
3. Breaking The Girl 5:03
4. Funky Monks 5:22
5. Suck My Kiss 3:35

Side Two
6. I Could Have Lied 4:10
7. Mellowship Slinky In B Major 4:00
8. The Righteous & The Wicked 4:05
9. Give It Away 4:45

Side Three
1. Blood Sugar Sex Magik 4:31
2. Under The Bridge 4:34
3. Naked In The Rain 4:30
4. Apache Rose Peacock 4:43

Side Four
5. The Greeting Song 3:14
6. My Lovely Man 4:45
7. Sir Psycho Sexy 8:24
8. They're Red Hot 1:44
Total playing time: 75:36 min.

Price: 29.90 €
Weight: 0.5 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in