AddThis Social Bookmark Button

NAPALM DEATH “Smear Campaign” /CD/

NAPALM DEATH “Smear Campaign” /CD/
zoom Zoom image

The twelfth full-length album by the legendary British Grindcore/Death Metal band.
When Napalm Death first hit the scene in the '80s, plenty of detractors must have thought that their brand of Extreme Metal was just a passing fad, and would soon go away. Now, 20 years later, guess who's having the last laugh (especially since the band has long been considered one of the first-ever Grindcore bands, and easily one of the most influential/copied Metal bands of the era)? And despite 2006's "Smear Campaign" being the band's umpteenth release, the band's assault-on-your-senses approach is still very much intact - particularly evident by singer Mark "Barney" Greenway, who still lives to scream his head off at every given opportunity (especially on such tracks as "Sink Fast, Let Go" and "Freedom Is the Wage of Sin"). Some artists enjoy reinventing themselves with each and every release. Not Napalm Death, which is reassuring in a way (you know exactly what lies therein with each successive brutal release) - and "Smear Campaign" certainly doesn't disappoint.
“Smear Campaign” shows Napalm Death from their probably most political side, attacking the re-born evangelic Christians in the US and all that falseness and fanaticism that comes with it. With “Smear Campaign” Napalm musically kept pretty much on track with “The Code is Red… Long Live the Code”, maybe a little bit more chunky Crust parts here, also production-wise this album is top notch and Grindcore hasn’t sounded better up until this stunning album. Just listen to “When All Is Said and Done” and you will immediately agree! The list of great albums Napalm Death created in their career so far is really impressive and hopefully will continue for many years to come. In my opinion they will always be leaders, not followers!!
Album features a guest appearance by Anneke van Giersbergen, ex-vocalist for the Dutch Rock band The Gathering.
Century Media Records Ltd., 2006 (77687-2). Made in Germany. First press.

1. Weltschmerz 1:28
2. Sink Fast, Let Go 3:23
3. Fatalist 2:52
4. Puritanical Punishment Beating 3:26
5. When All Is Said And Done 3:02
6. Freedom Is The Wage Of Sin 3:09
7. In Deference 3:15
8. Short-Lived 3:06
9. Identity Crisis 2:44
10. Shattered Existence 3:12
11. Eyes Right Out 3:12
12. Warped Beyond Logic 2:01
13. Rabid Wolves (For Christ) 1:25
14. Deaf And Dumbstruck (Intelligent Design) 2:46
15. Persona Non Grata 2:47
16. Smear Campaign 3:21
Total playing time: 45:11 min.


Old price: 14.50 €
Price: 11.90 €
Weight: 0.15 Kg

Shopping cart

Sum total:   0.00 €
Go to cart

Select a currency


0 Products - 0.00 €

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign in